Reflection of Esports Journalism

Well, the past three months been busy with a recent internship of mine. The internship was with a start up called 12up Esports. However, they ended up dropping me a few weeks ago. Ironically, when about a month before hand, I tried to leave to due schedule and time complications maden it difficult to write.

Besides lack of time, the overall time was some what enjoyable. The Skype group chat was filled with interesting individuals, but fitting in was not a thing.

As for the actual writing portion of this internship, it was rigorous and time consuming. The editors wanted perfect articles upon publishing. I understand they have hundreds of articles a day to edit for the site, but everyone writes at a different vocabulary level. Mine is meant for general public. It makes it so everyone can understand what is going on, not just esports fans (because how else is esports supposed to spread when no one can understand the article). That was something I learned in my News and Public Relations course. So, of course it would make sense that I would keep it simple, stupid.

Also, writing within a very small word limit, isn’t quite my style I learned. They wanted hard, fast hitting articles: 150-250 words. I wanted more elaborate and lengthy ones. By lengthy, I mean like 400-600 words. Those kinds of articles is where I feel like news can be properly written. The short ones started to feel like I couldn’t reach out to a larger audience or a general audience.¬†Granted, esports is growing due to the Millennials, but still there are those out there that play the game, but don’t watch the actual esports. Those are the people that require the longer piece, which amazingly is most of the population when you look at the overall numbers of people who play to people who watch the game.

However, there was a lot of learning outcomes for me:

  • Don’t work a full time job, be in school, and have an internship that requires the hours of the prior two.
  • Maintain all of your social media accounts, otherwise you will be spending more time on Google or something trying to figure what’s going on.
  • You must do exactly what they ask, so going against the grain and trying to be innovative is a bad idea.
  • Time management and subject matter mastery is a must. If you don’t have either, you will fail.
  • Journalism will put a strain on all relationships. I hardly answered my phone during this time from parents, other relatives, my best friend, and my significant other. Needless to say, my significant other is happy that I am no longer having a panic attack the minute I get home to get articles done. So, minor relationship victory there.
  • Esports journalism, you might as well be a guy. As a female, your voice is much smaller and most people will be harder on you because of it, judging by the comments on my articles.

 

 

Author: Queen Hecate

I am a writer that focuses on creative writing and eSports/gaming. I enjoy keeping it local.

Leave a Reply

